Gabriele Library Archives

Heritage Room

The Archives Offices are located in the Heritage room on the second floor of Gabriele Library, right near the children's collection.

What are Archives?

The archives office is where historical documents are preserved. Archives are the non-current records which are retained for their continuing value. The mission of the archives office is to appraise, collect, organize, describe, make available, and preserve records of historical legal, fiscal, and/or administrative value to Immaculata University.

The archives office provides information services to assist the operation of the university and to stimulate and nourish creative teaching and learning. It serves research and scholarship by making available and encouraging use of the collections.

Display Area

The office is divided into two sections. The main room contains changing displays of artifacts that tell the story of Immaculata University. The artifacts, housed in glass-front cabinets, directly pertain to the history of Immaculata. Some examples of the materials include:

  • History of the establishment of the Immaculata post office.
  • Letters from Rose Kennedy, St. Katharine Drexel, and Blessed Teresa of Calcutta.
  • Display of early Immaculata rings and pins as well as awards given to Alumnae/i.
  • Mementos of various Immaculata anniversary celebrations.

Historical Document Room

The historical records of the institution are preserved in a separate, climate-controlled room. These documents include scholarly writings of faculty members; past copies of the Gleaner, Immaculata’s yearbook; the Immaculatan, Immaculata’s newspaper; and memorabilia from each of Immaculata’s presidents. Each academic department has an area which houses information concerning the department’s events. There is a special collections section containing copies of rare Bibles, which were donated to Immaculata by a benefactor. Some recent additions are first edition copies of distinguished writers and illustrators in the field of children’s literature. The authors include Dr. Seuss, Frank Baum (The Wizard of Oz books), and Robert Lawson